Tourism Person & Business of the Year

The New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce is now accepting applications for the 2024 Business of the Year and Tourism Person of the Year! Winners for both awards will be recognized at the Chamber Annual Meeting on February 8th, 2024.

Business of the Year

Since 1974, the New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce has recognized a business in the New Ulm Area for their Chamber involvement, community involvement and economic impact in the area. This year, two businesses will be recognized: one large  and one small. The Chamber is asking the community to nominate a worthy business.

Nomination forms are being accepted through January 12th. Of the nominees, the Chamber board will select three finalists in each category: large business (more than 30 employees) and small business (30 or less employees). Voting will take place at the Chamber Annual Meeting, which will be held on February 8th, 2023. Each chamber member business will receive one ballot. The winning businesses will be announced that evening. Nomination Forms for Business of the Year can be found here.

Tourism Person of the Year

The New Ulm Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB), a part of the New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce, is now accepting applications for the New Ulm Tourism Person of the Year award. This annual award is designed to honor an individual, couple or organization who have made a significant and long-term contribution to the economic health of New Ulm through their involvement in the field of tourism by attracting travelers to visit and explore New Ulm.

Nominations are accepted through January 12, and will be reviewed by the CVB Committee. The winner will be recognized at the Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting, which will take place on Thursday, February 8th. Nomination Forms for Tourism Person of the Year can be found here. You can also pick up a paper copy at the Chamber of Commerce office or request one via email to Contact the Chamber for more information: 507-233-4300.


Business of the Year Past Recipients

1974 August Schell Brewing Co.

1975 International Multifoods

1976 Tachronics Instruments/Citizens Bank

1977 3M New Ulm Plant

1978 Kraft Foods New Ulm Plant

1979 Union Hospital/Loretto Hospital

1980 B.F. Goodrich

1981 State Bond Companies

1982 Associated Milk Producers, Inc.

1983 Dannheim’s Kuhstall

1984 Dr. Martin Luther College

1985 Minnesota Valley Testing Labs

1986 New Ulm Medical Center

1987 New Ulm Trucking Farms

1988-89 Farmers & Merchants Bank

1990 New Ulm’s Law Firms

1991 Borden’s Inc. New Ulm

1992 New Ulm’s Accounting Firms

1993 Windings, Inc.

1994 New Ulm’s Communications Firms

1995 New Ulm Telecom, Inc.

1996 Heymann Construction

1997 Caterpillar Paving Products

1998 American Artstone, Inc.

1999 Jensen Motors, Inc.

2000 Kemske Paper-Computers/Oswald Publishing

2001 Veigel’s Kaiserhoff Restaurant

2002 Retzlaff’s Ace Hardware

2003 Lambrecht’s & The Christmas Haus

2004 ISD 88, NUACS, MVL, St. Paul’s

2005 Cash Wise & Hy-Vee

2006 Shelter Products

2007 Holiday Inn New Ulm

2008 New Ulm Steel & Recycling

2009 Herberger’s

2010 New Ulm Furniture

2011 Design Home Center/Puhlmann Lumber & Design

2012 Upper Midwest Management

2013 Graphics Industry

2014 M R Paving & Excavating

2015 River Creek Nursery

2016 Turner Hall

2017 New Ulm Medical Center

2018-19 Citizens Bank Minnesota/Sewing Seeds Quilting Company

2020 A to Zinnia Floral & Gifts/3M

2021 BoCo Real Estate/Oak Hills Living Center

2022 KNUJ Radio/Windings

2023 New Ulm Real Estate/Christensen Farms


Tourism Person of the Year Past Recipients

2009 Leo Berg

2010 Don Veigel

2011 Ted & Jodi Mart

2012 Opal Dewanz

2013 The Concord Singers

2014 Joel Albrecht

2015 Denny Warta

2016 George Glotzbach

2017 Ann Vogel

2018 Arnold Koelpin

2019 Lois Stadick

2020 *Skipped due to COVID

2021 Bob Beussman

2022 Dayle Besemer

2023 Lisa Besemer