Announcing the 2019 Tourism Person of the Year
Lois Stadick, Tourism Person of the Year

The New Ulm Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB), a committee of the New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce, is pleased to announce that Lois Stadick has been named the 2019 New Ulm Tourism Person of the Year. The award is designed to honor an individual, couple or organization who have made a significant and long-term contribution to the economic health of New Ulm through their involvement in the field of tourism by attracting travelers to visit and explore New Ulm.  Each year the CVB accepts nominations for this honor, which are reviewed by the CVB Committee.  

Lois Stadick was nominated by Terry Sveine.  The nomination form contains a long list of tourism of achievements and developments credited to Lois while she was employed at the Chamber of Commerce.  Lois worked at the Chamber from 1990-1999. She was hired as a receptionist, but she found that her real passion was in tourism promotion.  She was the first Tourism Coordinator for New Ulm in 1993. Lois developed and coordinated the Greeter Program, which had volunteers work in the visitor center to greet visitors – this program is still continued today!  She developed hospitality programs, the anual 6th grade tour program, various tour options for bus groups, and more.  Click here to read The Journal article about more of Lois’ accomplishments.  

This is the 11th annual Tourism Person of the Year award.  Past winners of this award are Leo Berg, Don Veigel, Ted & Jodi Marti, Opal Dewanz, The Concord Singers, Joel Albrecht, Denny Warta, George Glotzbach, Ann Vogel, and Arnold Koelpin.  Contact the Chamber of Commerce at 233-4300 or for questions or more information.

In the photo above: Michelle Gartner, CVB Chair; Lois Stadick, 2019 Tourism Person of the Year; Terry Sveine, nominator.