Chamber Committees

Committees of the New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce

Business Action Team (BAT)

The purpose of the Business Action Team is to be a proactive voice for the business community by working with local, county and state officials. Their goals are to sponsor Hot Topics Breakfast/Lunch meetings and to encourage policies that positively impact the business and industrial community. 

Jeff Bertrang, New Ulm Public Schools
Dan Braam, Alliance Bank
Carisa Buegler, New Ulm Medical Center
Harold Remme, Retired
Brian Shropshire, Citizens Bank MN
Cindy Winters, NU Medical Center/HONU

Business Education Network (BEN)

BEN is working with the workforce needs of businesses through programs such as the Teacher in the Workplace, CEO in the classroom, Career Expo, Network New Ulm Youth Leadership, Junior Achievement and internships.

Co-Chair: Rachal Becker, Oak Hills Living Center,
Co-Chair: Nicole Blekestad, Oak Hills Living Center,

Jeff Bertrang, New Ulm Public Schools
Mary Ann Christensen, Big Ideas Inc
Chelsey Mason, Junior Acheivement
Tim Knaak, Mike's Collision & Repair
Stacy Merkel, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Ric Nelson, EON, Inc.
Nicole Rustman, MRCI
Brian Shropshire, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Katie Slette, New Ulm Medical Center
Andrew Supina, 3M Company
Adam Towles, Foresee Studios, LLC
Tallen Wald, SpecSys Inc
Kristine Wuller, Firmenich
Bill Aufderheide, MR Paving
Michael Grob, MN Valley Testing Labs
Michelle Freiderich

Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB)

The committee shall administer the City of New Ulm’s lodging tax to promote the City as a tourism destination and convention site.  Goals are to market New Ulm in various medias to heighten awareness and maximize its potential as a premier tourism destination; help fund advertising efforts of tourism-based activities that will increase visitation and the potential for overnight stays.

Chair: Chad Cooreman, New Ulm Conference Center
Vice Chair: Caitlyn Sanow, Best Western Plus

Dave Christian, City of New Ulm
Tom Furth, Furth-Meile Insurance, Inc.
Polly Glaser, Nuvera
Ash Goyal, Colonial Inn
Michele Seifert, Sozial Restaurant & Bar
Ruth Wellmann, Radio Mankato/MN Valley Broadcasting
Herb Knutson, Lamplighter Family Sports & Grill
Erin Lafferty, Best Western Plus

New Ulm Business & Retail Association (NUBRA)

The NUBRA committee coordinates, advertises, publicizes and promotes the general business of New Ulm, and the customer services available.  Their goals are to promote the New Ulm business districts through advertising, events and beautification efforts; to promote the importance of shipping locally. 

Chair: Danielle Fischer Marti, Gallery 512 Boutique
Vice Chair: Christina Schwab, Inspired

Keith Buboltz
Lynn Fink, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Nick Fitch, Hy-Vee
Ben Jensen, Jensen Motors, INC
Tony Guggisberg, River Creek Nursery
Kari Linbo, Route 1 Interiors, Ltd.
Sandy Reinke, Bailey Creek Boutique
Christina Schwab, Inspired
Adam Towles, Foresee Studios, LLC
Ruth Wellmann,  Radio Mankato/MN Valley Broadcasting
Ann Wendinger, Sewing Seeds Quilt Company
Elise Edwards-Toepel, New Ulm Monument

Network New Ulm Adult (NNU)

NNU seeks to build a stronger community by providing a diverse group of emerging and existing leaders with the opportunities to enhance their community knowledge, civic network and leadership skills.

Chair: Eric Swenson, Gag Sheet Metal,
Secretary: Nicole Blekestad, Oak Hills Living Center

Jeff Amundson, Bank Midwest
Katie Nosbush, United Prairie Bank
Tyler Berg, EON

Network New Ulm Youth

To develop leadership skills while creating a sense of community awareness in our young people.

Chair: Stacy Merkel, Citizens Bank Minnesota,

Jennifer Brehmer, Allina/NUMC
Shari Fischer, Fischer Law
Shannon Hillesheim, Bank Midwest
Jenni Neubauer, CliftonLarsonAllen
Phil Schenck, Grace Community Church
Lisa Schneider, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Sarah Seifert, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Naomi Stewart, AgQuest Financial Services Inc
Carla Walden, Minnesota Valley Testing Labs
Paula Wenninger, Edward Jones

Willkommen Committee

Willkommen committee serves as the good-will ambassadors of the New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce.  Their goals are to welcome new Chamber members, businesses and to recognize new managers and relocations; to assist with membership retention through visitation programs; to encourage members to do business with other Chamber members.

Chair: Jessica Janni, Bank Midwest,
Vice-Chair: Amy Pearson, Thrivent Financial - New Ulm Area Group
Secretary: Kim Hanson, New Ulm Real Estate

Ron Alger, MBW
Cathy Anderson, Alliance Bank
Nicole Briggs, Jensen Motors
Tom Buskey, Edward Jones
Jan DeLeo, Sid's Signs on Broadway
Sheri Dittrich-Reinhart, Mary Kay Cosmetics
Lynn Fink, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Marie Guggisberg, Weelborg Chevrolet
Anna Howell, Design Home Center
Pam Kitzberger, Oak Hills Living Center
Lori Kollmann, Citizens Bank Minnesota
Tami Leuthold, PCA of MN
Katie Nosbush, United Prairie Bank
Nick Metzker, Preferred Insurance
Lori Pickell-Stangel, United Way of the Brown County Area
Cheyenne Platz, Woodstone Senior Living
Ben Schoo, NU Surface
Sandy Scheibel, KNUJ
Brittney Schmiesing, Chuck Spaeth Ford
Randy Schroeder, Frandsen Bank & Trust
Brian Serbus, SouthPoint Financial Credit Union
Dinah Spurgin, Thrivent Financial - New Ulm Area Group
Kathy Van Roekel, Nuvera
Amber Wicke, Best Western Plus

Vision Statement of the Chamber of Commerce

Encourage economic growth in our community by serving our members through business development, networking, education, advocacy and access to resources.